The symbiosis that changed the world

Laura Eme, Thijs J.G. Ettema*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleAcademic


All cellular life on Earth can be classified into one of the three domains: bacteria, archaea or eukaryotes. Whereas cells of bacteria and archaea are small and simple, those of eukaryotes are generally bigger and complex, containing a nucleus that encompasses DNA, and other subcellular compartments, referred to as organelles.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)118-121
Number of pages4
JournalMicrobiology Today
Issue number3
Publication statusPublished - Aug 2017
Externally publishedYes


Dive into the research topics of 'The symbiosis that changed the world'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this